skip navigation

Skip Nav

Education Materials

Education Materials

Life Cycle Audio


Synonym(s): Replication Cycle

The series of steps that HIV follows to multiply in the body. The process begins when HIV encounters a CD4 cell. The seven steps in the HIV life cycle are: 1) binding; 2) fusion; 3) reverse transcription; 4) integration; 5) replication; 6) assembly; and 7) budding.

See Related Term(s): Assembly, Binding, Budding, Fusion, Integration, Replication, Reverse Transcription

Image(s): (Click to enlarge)
Steps of HIV replication

Download Glossary

Back to Top