HIV/AIDS Glossary

Drug Class

A group of drugs that share common properties, including a similar mechanism of action, chemical structure, or approved use. Approved antiretroviral (ARV) HIV drugs are divided into six drug classes based on how each drug interferes with the HIV life cycle. These six classes include the nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NRTIs), non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs), protease inhibitors (PIs), fusion inhibitors, CCR5 antagonists, and integrase strand transfer inhibitors (INSTIs).

Related Term(s): CCR5 Antagonist, Fusion Inhibitor, Integrase Strand Transfer Inhibitor, Life Cycle, Non-Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor, Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor, Protease Inhibitor

Search the Glossary

What's this?


AIDSinfo Glossary App

Download Glossary